HISTORY OF ST. DAVID'S CHURCH, LAKE ECHO
Before 1953 there was no church in Lake Echo and anyone wanting to attend a United Church service would travel to Woodlawn or Port Wallace.
Rev. J.D.N. MacDonald had contact with many families in the Lake Echo area and began sending students to conduct Sunday services in the Crooks' canteen, which was opposite the present Fire Hall.
In the early 1950's with Eric Fullerton (who was then a student at Pine Hill) and others, Rev. J.D.N. MacDonald organized construction of the original building on the property bought from Mr. Charles Fisher of Bell Street, Lake Echo.
The Church opened in October 1953 and Sunday services were held regularly, often conducted by students or visiting Ordained Ministers.
Cole Harbour United was built to serve the growing population of east Dartmouth, and together with Calvin United Church in Lawrencetown, a long established Presbyterian congregation, these three Churches became one Pastoral Charge.
One Minister served all three Churches until 1977.
At that time Rev. Bill Gillis lived in the Manse at Cole Harbour and travelled to Lake Echo and Lawrencetown, preaching three times each Sunday. Then Rev. Betty Griffiths came to help with the growing congregations and it was soon determined that Calvin and St. David's could stand as one Pastoral Charge, alone from Cole Harbour. Soon after, the Pastoral Charge amicably became two separate Charges.